Background Image

No One Went to Town

Wonderful true stories of early New Zealand pioneering days told through the lives of young May Tarrant and her brothers. 222 Broadway, Stratford 4332
Call us anytime 021 842 856

Originally published in the 1980s, Phyllis Johnston’s iconic New Zealand pioneering books are a rare glimpse into pioneer life, seen through the eyes of May Tarrant and her brothers. Likened by readers to Laura Ingalls Wilders’ ‘Little House’ books, the series starts with May and her brothers in the early 1900s and covers 50 years of New Zealand history.

The series is a unique record, taking a character from early childhood through to adulthood and girls, boys and adults are still entranced by the stories of May and her brothers growing up in the 1900s.

The final book of the series, ‘The Fortunate Ones’, completes the story of May, Wally and their children. This is a previously unpublished manuscript, published for the first time in October 2018.

The full series is a wonderful social history of New Zealand from the early 1900s until the end of World War 2.

The May Series

  • Book One No one went to town, reprinted 2017
  • Book Two Black Boots and Buttonhooks, reprinted 2017
  • Book Three A Comet in the Sky, reprinted 2017
  • Book Four No Lily-livered Girl, reprinted 2018
  • Book Five The Fortunate Ones, published 2018

These new editions are faithful to the original, with the same cover art and illustrations. They are softcover, professionally printed and all have ISBN numbers. They are available for $24 a copy.  Wholesale rates apply for book distributors, schools and libraries (minimums apply).

You can purchase these books from the ‘No One Went to Town’ website or at The Bead Hold, 222 Broadway, Stratford 4332 on Wednesday’s from 10am until 1pm.

For all enquires please contact Nia Chesswas on 021 842 856 or

222 Broadway, Stratford 4332

Get Directions
Social Profiles
Enquire now